September 2022

Cygnus with The Village Trip

Cygnus, with soprano Leah Brzyski

New works by

Allison Loggins-Hull
Carman Moore
Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon

and featuring Greenwich Village composer
Akemi Naito

March 2022

Never Ending Artist

Electric guitarist/composer Agustín Castilla-Ávila and visual artist Isabelle Heidl create simultaneously and interactively

“NEA” is an improvisation Performance by Isabella Heigl (Painting) and Agustín Castilla-Ávila (Electric Guitars) within the research project “Never Ending Artist”, inspired by the Bob Dylan philosophy, through the USA and Mexico, proposing a transdisciplinary classification of our artistic practice. The “NEA” performance (45 min. approx.) consists of an improvisation session of painting and music based of topics, thoughts and quotations by Bob Dylan. Our goal is to present not just a multidisciplinary work but also to explore the transdisciplinary possibilities between painting and music and create a theoretic classification based on these performances. “Never Ending Artist” is a seven-weeks research project funded by the Mozarteum University Salzburg and the International Society of Mozarteum University Salzburg in Austria. Isabella Heigl, born in 1989, lives and works in Salzburg as a painter and videomaker. She studied Russian at Paris Lodron University and painting and videoart at Mozarteum Salzburg. She’s a member of the feminist performance collective psysisters and founder of the art collective isibank. In her work she tries to think painting at the intersection of action, performance and poetry . Agustín Castilla-Ávila has worked as a composer in Europe, Asia and America. His music has been directed by D. Russell-Davies, J. Kalitzke, T. Ceccherini, A. Soriano, H. Lintu and H. Schellenberger, among others. He has written solo, chamber, orchestra, theater, choreography and five chamber operas. He has published for Doblinger Verlag, Bergmann Edition, Mackinger Verlag, Da Vinci Edition, Verlag Neue Musik and Joachim Trekel. In 2013 he received the Musik Jahresstipendium from the Salzburg Region.


October 2019

Cygnus Fall 2019 in California

November 1 @ UC Berkeley------ November 3 and 4 at Sacramento State U.

Cygnus launches new works by Stephen Blumberg and Andrew Waggoner in California....

Cygnus, with soprano Elizabeth Farnum & Bowers Fader Duo (Oren Fader, guitar and Jessica Bowers, mezzo)

Francesca Ferrara, flute; Robert Ingliss, oboe
Calvin Wiersma, violin; Susannah Chapman, ‘cello
Oren Fader, guitar; William Anderson, guitar & mandolin
Joan Forsyth, piano

November 1 at 3PM
UC Berkeley, Hertz Hall

works by
Richard Festinger, Alba Potes, Dina Koston, William Anderson, Martin Rokeach,
David Claman, Frank Brickle, Stephen Blumberg

November 3 7:00PM
Sacramento State, Capistrano Concert Hall

works by Damon Ferrante, Anna Weesner, William Anderson

November 4 7PM Full Cygnus program at Sacramento State’s Capistrano Concert Hall

works by David Claman, Andrew Waggoner, Frank Brickle, Robert Pollock, Martin Rokeach, Dina Koston, Richard Festinger, Stephen Blumberg, Judith Sainte Croix